The Key to Success

For the past little while I’ve been reading a book here and there.

For those of you who know me understand that this is a feat in itself!

Every time I pick up this book I seem to read through 10-15 pages at a time before even noticing that I’ve been reading it at all. The book is called “How To Win Friends & Influence People”.  It is a collection of mini short stories, if you will, all with a moral written between the lines and summarized at the end of each.

Although I’m not finished reading the book, I am a good portion of the way through. It will take me a little while to finish the book since I’m a bit caught up with other major projects now (more on that next week). That doesn’t mean I can’t share with you the most valuable lessons i’ve taken away so far. There are 6 principles that echo in my head every time I meet someone new or talk to an old friend. It’s almost funny how well they work:

  1.  Become genuinely interested in other people.
  2. Smile – “Don’t feel like smiling? Then what? Two things. First, force yourself to smile. If you are alone, force yourself to whistle or hum a tune or sing. Act as if you were already happy and that will tend to make you happy.” “Actions seem to follow feeling, but really action and feeling go together; and by regulating the action, which is under the more direct control of will, we can indirectly regulate the feeling which is not.”
  3. Remember that a person’s name is to that person the sweetest and most important sound in any language.
  4. Be a good listener. Encorage others to talk about themselves.
  5. Talk in terms of the other person’s interests.
  6. Make the other person feel important – and do it sincerely.
Hone these skills and you can master any conversation and make any encounter go your way!
I was at the hospital this past weekend with my brother and after waiting about 3 hours we were now being seen by the resident doctor, not the real doctor yet.. When she came in she introduced herself to my brother and I introduced myself to her with a smile on my face and saying “Nice to meet you Stephanie”. I would have loved to make a crack something to the tune of ‘he made me push him down the stairs’, but that was a pretty dumb idea since that sort of thing is taken way too seriously at children’s hospitals. I simply made a comment about how quiet it was in the hospital around that time (It wasn’t). She looked up and smiled, and that is all I wanted to do, make someone else smile and bring some light to their day.
Although we were still waiting there for about 1 more hour after we initially saw the doctor, I know that it could have been much more. The people in the room next to us was seen about 20 minutes before my brother and I and we managed to leave while they were still waiting for treatment.
The point I’m trying to make is that it isn’t hard to make someone smile and feel important. Those 6 principles above are much more powerful than you think.
Chances are it will turn out beneficial for you in the end.
You never know how much you could be helping someone with a simple smile, greeting them by name or kind gesture.
Give it a shot, It might even brighten your day?!
Leave a Reply

